five minute friday | because

Oh, I haven’t written in ages, and there’s an ache within. Here’s my hurling of words in an attempt to get the juices flowing again because lately it’s just been a matter of getting through the days and sleeping through the nights the best I can.

“You don’t have to make something that people call art. Living is an artistic activity, there is an art to getting through the day.”
Viggo Mortenson

[start]

Because even when life is hard, it is so, so good.

That’s why I get up every morning, even on the worst days.

Because the Lord sustains me.

That’s how one foots moves in front of the other, even when it hurts.

Because I have dreams and aspirations.

That’s why I keep trying even when I am terrified of royally screwing up.

Because even when life is hard, it is so, so good.

There are times when life takes it all out of me, and when the rough days end, and I throw on a baggy shirt and sweat pants, and I curl up in bed and sigh, wishing I were stronger. Heartier. Steadier. Smarter, prettier, healthier, kinder, less selfish, less anxious, more ready, more prepared.

Why do I even bother?

Because even when life is hard, it is so, so good.

When you wake up in the morning after a restless night, and you have bags under your eyes, a pit in your stomach, and a quake and quiver in your bones, there is something so good and beautiful about choosing to keep on going anyway. When you look yourself in the tired eyes and say, “You will get through today anyway,” that’s your because. That’s your answer to why do I even bother.

Why do I even bother? Because even when life is hard, it is so, so good.

When you drive into work and you’re running late and you hit every red light, and you get to work and everything is going wrong, and you’ve said the wrong thing to your boss and your coworkers just want you to get your shit together, but you can’t because it’s just one of those days, weeks, months, years, and you can’t catch a break, and your bills are late, and you’ll be paying off your student loans until your kids have their own student loans, and dammit, this headache is killing me, there is something lovely and true and empowering about sneaking into the bathroom during your lunch break and reminding yourself, “You can do this. You will get through this. This too shall pass,” and then walking out and just doing the very best you can.

Because even when life is hard, it is so, so good because the beautiful things come out of the mire and the muck, the shit, the mud, the dirt and soil, the digging and planting and sowing and harvesting and the hands that get dirty in the process.

So why do you even bother?

Because.

*Honesty moment: I went longer than 5 minutes, so sue me.


Every Friday, join the blogosphere for five minutes of free-writing on a single-world prompt, and watch where the Muse takes you. Find out more about Five-Minute Fridays here.

Leave a Reply

